Pathetic Writers

FFP headline!

cryingBoy and girl admit they love each other. Boy and girl lose each other. Boy and girl find each other. Boy admits his closed off feelings. Girl watches her boy lose it. Whatever it is, eventually as a writer what we create makes us cry. Sometimes even ugly cry, see photo above. It happens and what does that mean? Are we too involved in our stories? Do our characters become our friends? Are they an extension of feelings we can’t admit in our own lives? Or is our writing just that damn good? Who knows? But it happens.

Almost every one of my stories, with the exception of Falling for Shock (and not because it’s not good, but it’s just light-hearted), has made me cry. I like to think that it’s being so involved in our characters’ lives. To a writer we have created this person with likes, dislikes, memories, and flaws, and with those we can build a story. If I can’t attach myself to a character, the story fails. I think of two of mine books that haven’t made it yet – Seven Lives and Separated Souls…. both have really good plots, but I wasn’t feeling the characters. Seven Lives wasn’t my original story and it was so difficult to rewrite it into my words but keep someone else’s characters living. And in Separated Souls, which I still may give it another try, I had the idea of Falling for Shock hit me and those Hannel brothers just took over. A stronger, more formed character system pushed their way to the front and couldn’t be ignored, thus leaving poor Maggie and Sam somewhere in the past.

Oh well, but folks, I’m telling you – I’ve said it many a time… just wait for Rhys and Falling for Phoenix. He’s going to make you look like me at the top of the page. I hope you’re ready. Luckily you don’t have to wait long either… 41 more days! Cover reveal April 25th!

Leave a Reply

