Things Someone Should Have Told Me

So I’ve been thinking about what kinds of things to write about today and the first things that came to mind were my two precious dogs I lost this winter. But I don’t feel like crying right now and I didn’t want to have my first blog in a couple of weeks be depressing.  Some other day I’ll talk about Ellie and Jett.  Today though, I thought I would go through a few topics of Things Someone Should Have Told Me. Maybe some of these will be helpful to someone else searching for answers and truth while contemplating new ventures.

COLLEGE GRADUATE

Western CT State University my alma mater

Western CT State University my alma mater

Someone should have told me:

1) You will have one very big bill for the rest of your life and it keeps getting bigger and bigger thanks to interest.

2) Things you love to do and study hard for will not be lucrative. When you get out of college you will find a job anywhere (mostly because of #1) and the degree you hold very rarely becomes the field you will make money in. But you will dream of using that degree for a very long time.

3) When you do finally get a job in your field you will never want to leave it, no matter if you are upside down in debt. It feels that good.

MARRIED LIFE

Eryn and Jon kissing

Someone should have told me:

1) You will be pulled between families sometimes and no matter which family you chose, they other will have something to say about it.

2) Money sucks. It causes fights. It causes jealousy. And you will take the bottom of the list on what you actually want – under bills, repairs, groceries, pets, children and slightly even with husband.

3) At some point you might eat a can of corn on the front steps, crying because you’re sick and your husband just lost his job. But be strong. This to shall pass.

4) No matter how much you are still in love with your husband and how much you don’t want to be one of those couples who doesn’t have sex for a month… it will still happen. I still haven’t learned this one. I refuse to believe it’s true, but in the back of my head, I know it is.

5) Compromise is a must, even on stupid things like picking out a new comforter for the bed.  Just once I’d like something to be all my idea.

*Bonus – No matter what happens, your heart may swell a million times over because of how much you are in love with your spouse.

MOTHERHOOD

Mother and child

Someone should have told me:

1) You’re house will never be clean even if you do spend all day on Saturday in your sweats, scrubbing everything from top to bottom. By the next day, it will be messy again.

0624101853

2) There will be times you won’t get to wash your hair for four days. Whether they are newborns, beckoning your every minute; toddlers getting into everything; or school kids who tell you they need cupcakes made for class the next morning at 8pm. Take a shower when you can, not when you want to.

3) If you have a boy you must learn about superheroes, guns, soccer, football, legos and mud.

4) Learn to sew. You will be sewing holes in knees three weeks after you buy your son a new pair of dress pants.

5) Get over your fears. You will find that you don’t want your fears transferred to your children, nor do you want to look less than capable in their eyes.  They hold you in such high regard that when you can’t come through for them when they need you the most, it breaks your heart in two seeing them trying to cope alone while you’re petrified.

* Bonus – You heart will swell with how much you love your child. It will lurch with every stubbed toe and scrapped knee.

PETS

(L to R) Jett, Ellie & Earl

(L to R) Jett, Ellie, Earl
My 3 Welsh Corgis

Someone should have told me:

1) Any pet you buy your child will be yours with a dooky name. I have a fish that I solely take care of named Spiderman Tailfin.

Spiderman Tailfin

Spiderman Tailfin

2) Dogs get old and grumpy like old men on a front porch yelling at the kids that pass by except they bark.

3) They don’t make doggie diapers for overweight Corgis.

4) Sometimes they are taken from you before you are ready to say goodbye.

5) They will be your best friend even when you are angry and upset. They won’t leave your side for a second and sometimes are even used by God to nudge you and make you remember that you are not alone.

JOBS

Working girl

Working girl

Someone should have told me:

1) Even though kindergarten was far away there will always be someone who is a tattle-tail just to get ahead of you in the working world.

2) We’re not adults, we’re grown children. Work places are just as bad, if not worse than high school.

3) Working for someone sucks. At some point you will realize you are doing work for someone who is making more money and doing less work.

4) FICA is mean. You don’t make $12 per hr. You make $9 thanks to taxes.

5) When you find your perfect career, don’t let it go!

WRITING & PUBLISHING

DSCN0864

Someone should have told me:

1) Writing partners can be such a helpful and amazing tool. Just be careful because some may only use you for help, but not give any back.

2) You will meet people from all over the world!

3) You can’t please everyone, including agents and publishers. Just keep trying, you’ll find the one who loves your work just as much as you do.

Promote any and every where. Even on your car on a cold and rainy day.

Promote any and every where. Even on your car on a cold and rainy day.

4) Being a writer is actually three jobs in one: a) writer b) an advertiser c) a marketer and each one will frustrate you.

5) Competition is fierce. You might hate your best friend one day because their numbers are higher than yours.

 

 

 

I hope you have enjoyed my little commentary. Just a few of life’s lessons that I wish I had an inkling of before I stepped forth into the changes in my life. Some are good, some are bad, but overall they are life and life is precious.

Leave a Reply

