The Next Big Thing

Welcome to The Next Big Thing
the-next-big-thing-logo-300x190

My friend, author Katherine Lowry Logan recently tagged me for a blog hop entitled ‘The Next Big Thing’. The deal is: I answer a few questions about my current work-in-progress, then I invite other authors to do the same. Clive was tagged by Clive Eaton,

What is the working title of your next book?

The Blue Lute

Where did the idea come from for the book?
Well, back in 2000 when I was living in San Diego, CA, I had just moved into my very first solo apartment.  It was a building that used to be a hotel back in the 1920s and it had been renovated into an apartment complex.  There were SO many things that were still there from the original architecture, like real wooden crown molding, gallant arches, a secret dumbwaiter in the kitchen, a claw foot tub, and scrolled ironwork on the air vents. Being the storyteller and historian that  I am, I immediately thought about how cool it would be if I found something of the people that lived here before me.  My mind started cranking out an idea and I had to write down.
What genre does your book fall under?
Historical Romance – Time Travel
What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Mr. Matthew Bomer from the TV series White Collar

  I was watching the tv show Monk back when it was still on and USA Network flashed a picture of Matt Bomer and the series White Collar. I gasped and shot out of my seat, yelling to my husband, “That’s Brandon!!”  My husband, as diligent a supporter that he is, knew I meant my book. I explained to him that I had this make believe image of who I thought Brandon Crowley would be and Matt’s picture pops up with a perfect likeness of him.  To this day, it still takes my breath away how much Matt resembles my imagination.  Even here, in this photograph, he’s carrying a guitar case, Brandon is a guitar player…. ahhh be still my heart.

And Diana Argon from Glee would make a perfect Lilly.  Smart, sensible, beautiful and very easily transformable into a 1920s flapper if the story calls for it.

                                                                                   

Last year Matt Bomer guest starred on Glee and I was so excited because that meant that my dream characters were together so I could have one beautiful picture of Brandon and Lilly side by side.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Brandon thought his life was perfect back in1928, but as he is whisked away to another time, he finds that what he thought was truth was instead a vicious lie created by the one he loved the most.
Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
I’m hoping my current publisher, Black Lyon Publishing, will take this one on as well.
How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?
YEARS.  I started it, stopped it and I’m still working on the finer details now.
What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
I don’t like comparing myself to others. I’m unique and think my style stands alone.
Who or what inspired you to write this book?
I’ve always loved studying the 1920s and the gangster of the 1930s, so I knew I always wanted to write about that era.  I was so glad this is the story that found it’s way through.
What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?
Much like Beneath the Wall, there are twists and turns in The Blue Lute that are unsuspected.  I really can’t wait for people to read this story.
Other NEXT BIG THINGS:
Please Visit some of my author friends who have completed the same questions.
If any other authors want to be tagged in this questionnaire, please contact me and I will add your link to this page.
3 Comments

  1. You have me very intrigued with the premise of this book. I love TTR, and this one sounds sooooo good! I will definitely be looking forward to it when you have a release date! Thanks for dropping by and saying hello to me on Twtter. You just found another reader, LOL!

Leave a Reply

