Monkey See Monkey Do…

I wasn’t going to use my blog to brag, tell stories about, or gush about my son (even though he is the cutest thing ever), but this story deserved a blog.  Yesterday, my four-year old son, Cameron, took my iPad into his room to, what I assumed, was to play games while I showered.  I found him instead using the Notepad randomly typing.

“What are you doing Buddy?” I asked.

Without looking up from the pad he said, “I’m writing a story, Mom.”

Feeling happy and proud that he was following (somewhat) in my footsteps I smiled and asked, “What’s your story about?”

I got a sigh and a glower followed by, “Mom, you’re bothering me.  I need to write my story. I’ll talk to you later.”

I had to laugh, he sounded completely like me when I’m in “the zone”.  You know the place, when you are on roll, the words are flowing like milk and honey, and even the threat of flood or fire isn’t enough to pull you away from your computer screen…  Anyways, part of me wanted to laugh at him for being so cute, but the other part cringed as I realized those words don’t sound very good coming back to me.  I will have to work on that during my next writing session.  But I let the boy be and after about ten minutes, he came to me with gibberish words on the Notepad saying, “Wanna read my story now?”

Considering, it really said nothing, I didn’t want to ruin his creativity, because he obviously was “writing” something.  So I said, “How about you read it to me.”

With a clear of his throat and a nestle of his tushy against the bed and pillows he began.

“The Purple Ranger is there to save Jayden from the Nighlok that came to get him.  She fought the Nighlok but couldn’t get Jayden away.  Then Jayden died and Purple Ranger was sad.”  I gasped and Cameron smiled. “Wait Mom, there’s more,” he said and then continued. “Purple Ranger defeated the Nighlok and Jayden wasn’t died, (that’s not a typo, Cameron says died instead of killed as in *he died him* instead of *he killed him*…back to Jayden) he came back alive and the Purple Ranger was so happy she kissed Jayden.”

At this I squealed.  Cameron gave me a flat look and a, “Stop it Mom.” He hates when I get gushy about romance.

Now to explain, the rangers are the Power Rangers, which there is not a Purple Ranger but there is a Jayden, and he’s the leader of the Rangers.  Nighloks are the bad creatures from someplace I don’t know.  As I have seen m a n y  of the episodes, unfortunately, I can tell you that this story was not one of the shows.  So my boy created some original fan fiction … awww :).

My point of blog being, little ones watch us like hawks.  But maybe, just maybe what they pick up is a talent that they find within themselves and who knows where that new skill will lead them.  I’m so proud of my boy, not only that but I don’t feel as guilty for being a bit quick when I’m in the zone. Cameron repeating my actions told me that he understands the seriousness of what writing is and that he’s not harboring any hard feelings towards what I do during the day.

3 Comments

  1. Nicely done, Eryn! I, too, have been accused of not listening to my kids when I am writing. I have to remind my kids that they have to get my attention first, because sometimes I’m so deeply within what I am doing that I don’t even realize that they are talking to me! I like your spin on it, saying that we’re teaching them to follow their passions and be committed to them (mostly because it makes me feel less guilty), but also agree that we need to be careful that we’re not teaching them to ignore other people’s needs, or that it’s okay to snap when we’re busy. Thanks for sharing your story with us. So cute!

Leave a Reply

