Tryin it on for size

So hello, my name is Eryn LaPlant.  Last year I had the privilege of pursuing my dream of being a full-time author and mother.  Currently, I have three completed stories.  Two are still being edited and one is finished and ready to go.  That book is entitled, The Blue Lute.  In the last year I have been actively trying to catch the attention of literary agents around the country to read my book.  I have had some good leads but nothing that I can formally say have wanted to give it a go.  But I am determined that this WILL happen.  I can feel it in my bones that this is what I was meant to do.

Maybe it’s my family given talent of artistry and writing that has been passed down through many generation: my grandfather, my mother, my sisters – they are all writers.  Or maybe it’s the Irish storytelling in my blood, but I love creating and writing stories.  When I was at meaningless jobs all I could think of was that I’m wasting my time!  There I was just sitting at a desk working for some dumb company where I made absolutely no difference and could never be appreciated for the talents that had.  I hating working those places, but I didn’t hate working.  I wanted to be home so I could do the things I loved for a job and not for a hobby. 

Anyhow, back to the books.  The Blue Lute is probably my favorite story that has come to me.  I love it not only because it’s a fun story, but it combines all or the things that I love:  history, music, time travel, romance, and most importantly the 1920s.   Here’s my little blurb of its plot:   Think you have life figured out?  Brandon Crowley did until the night of August 31, 1928.  Fleeing into a dark alley, after being chased by Nick Abruzzio’s thugs, the man holding his fiancée, Christine Hutton, captive; Brandon emerges 70 years later in modern-day New York City.  With his friends long gone, and nowhere to turn, Brandon is stranded in an unfamiliar time. 

He is at a dead-end until he meets Lilly, a soulful graduate student at New York University, majoring in history, two years later.  She sees Brandon as a mysterious stranger obsessed with the past.  Only to Brandon, it’s his present and Lilly is soon caught up in a decades-old mystery they must solve.  Through twists and turns they find out that the truth was a far cry from what Brandon thought his life was like in 1928, instead it was  a vicious lie created by the one he loved the most.

Through this blog I would love to tell you about me and about the stories I’ve come up with as well as the origins of the ones I’ve already written.  I might even throw a few fascinating history lessons in there too! 🙂 Stay tuned tomorrow for more!!  Thanks for reading.

5 Comments

  1. Great idea, Eryn! Your book truly sounds intriguing and I’d love to read it! Jude Deveraux is one of my favorite authors, too, and I’ve read both of the books you mentioned. Good luck and let me know when I can read The Blue Lute.

Leave a Reply

